Skip to content
FilmSchools.app
Regent University logo

Regent University · Department of Film and Media Arts, School of Communication & the Arts

MFA in Film & Television Production

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Film & Television ProductionPartial funding

Overview

A 51-credit on-campus MFA in film and television production, presented from a Christian worldview, with graduate production studios and a thesis production project.

Official program name
MFA in Film & Television Production
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Film & Television ProductionMaster's · Master of Fine Arts
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Virginia Beach, VA
Delivery
On campusClasses, workshops and productions meet in person on campus.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required attendance
Regular campus attendanceStudents attend classes on campus throughout the program.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published
Duration
Not verified
Required credits
51+ credit hours
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Film and television
The program covers both film and television.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Fields of study

FieldClassificationEvidence
Film ProductionDedicated degreeThe degree itself is in this field.Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Why this degree is listed

MFA dedicated to film and television production.

Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list verified film degrees only — no certificates, workshops or generic degrees with a few film electives. Eligibility rules

Curriculum, pathways and faculty

Thesis, film or capstone

Thesis filmFilm Studio: Thesis Production (repeatable); students exhibit and defend a creative thesis project.

Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Production projects

  • Narrative Motion Picture Production: a standalone, portfolio-ready short narrative film.
    Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published areas of study

  • Graduate courses in screen directing and screen editing.
    Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

  • Alex Buffalo — Associate Professor, Film & Media Arts
  • Jon Mark Nail — Assistant Professor, Film & Media Arts
  • Rachel Pace — Assistant Professor, Film & Media Arts
  • Camilo Ruiz — Assistant Professor, Film & Media Arts
  • Ashley Zahorian Selg — Assistant Professor, Film & Media Arts
  • Mike Sinclair — Associate Dean & Assistant Professor, Film & Media Arts
  • Nathan Tillett — Lecturer, Film & Media Arts

As listed on the program's official page on October 12, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Production costs and equipment

Production and equipment costs are separate from tuition. Tuition does not include cameras, crew, actors, locations, software or thesis-film budgets unless the school says so.

Equipment and facility access

Equipment loans
The FTV Equipment Office stocks cameras and other equipment for class assignments; students are not required to buy a camera.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Stages and studios
High-definition television studio for live-streaming and internet broadcasts.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published production and equipment costs

Equipment, computer and software

Personal editing system
Regent strongly recommends that FTV students buy their own editing computer and software; there are no general editing labs.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Thesis and project spending

External hard drive
MandatoryAn external hard drive is required.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We never estimate a total cost when key expenses are unpublished. Compare production costs

Admissions

Each submission item is shown exactly as the school states it. Anything not listed is not verified — never “not required”.

Portfolio and submission materials

Portfolio requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

Other requirements

Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts; official transcripts requested from the degree-granting institution.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredCopy of a government-issued ID.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness. Build an application checklist

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the year and intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Other deadline

    Semester check-in Wednesday, January 6 for the session starting Monday, January 11 (students should be accepted and enrolled by check-in) · for Spring 2027

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other. Production costs are listed separately above.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$700per credit · 2026-2027Estimate$35,700 = 51 credits × $700 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, production and equipment costs, travel, and any rate change during the program.Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Mandatory institutional fees

University Services Fee (on-campus students, fall and spring)
$900 per semesterMandatory
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated. “Fully funded” never means every personal or production expense is covered. How we classify funding

Partial fundingPolicy year: 2026-2027

Other
Competitive funding for select student-led films.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Named scholarships, assistantships and production grants

  • Student-led film funding production grant

    Not stated

    Eligibility: Select student-led films; competitive, examines quality and redemptive storytelling

    Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. regent.edu/academics/catalogs/GRAD_catalog_2026_FA.pdf — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. regent.edu/program/mfa-in-film-television-production/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. regent.edu/school-of-communication-and-the-arts/faculty/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level and field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

CUNY Brooklyn College

Cinema Arts, M.F.A.

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Cinema Arts
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Format: On campusClasses, workshops and productions meet in person on campus. · Full- or part-time
Fields: Film Production (dedicated degree) · Film Directing (Thesis as director concentration) · Cinematography (Thesis as cinematographer concentration) +3
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: $5,545 per semester · In-state — New York State residents, full-time (12 credits), tuition only
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
California Institute of the Arts logo

California Institute of the Arts

MFA Film and Video

MFAMaster of Fine Arts - Film and Video
Location: Valencia, CA
Format: On campusClasses, workshops and productions meet in person on campus.
Fields: Film Production (dedicated degree) · Film Studies (broader film degree)
Duration: Three years
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $62,954 per academic year · All students — Full-time BFA and MFA programs · 2026-2027
Deadline: December 1, 2026 · Fall 2027

Asbury University

MFA in Film & Television Production

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Film & Television Production
Location: Wilmore, KYSchool location; coursework is online.
Format: Online · Limited visitsMostly online, with some required visits to campus. · Full- or part-time
Fields: Film Production (dedicated degree) · Film Directing (broader film degree) · Cinematography (broader film degree)
Duration: Two years full-time; up to three years
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $595 per credit · All students — Graduate Communications (MA, MFA)
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View programSelected in: Best Online Film Schools

FilmSchools.app is independent and not affiliated with Regent University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.