Skip to content
FilmSchools.app

Asbury University · Media, Journalism & Digital Storytelling

MFA in Film & Television Production

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Film & Television ProductionPartial fundingEditorial selection: Best Online Film Schools

Overview

A 42-credit online MFA with core courses in storytelling, cinematography, editing and the business of media, chosen production, directing, experiential and writing courses, a required Los Angeles media industry intensive, and a creative project. Prerequisites in audio, television and single-camera production apply.

Official program name
MFA in Film & Television Production
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Film & Television ProductionMaster's · Master of Fine Arts
Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Asbury University — Media, Journalism & Digital Storytelling
Location
Wilmore, KYThe administering school's location. Coursework is online; this is not a residence requirement.
Delivery
OnlineCoursework is delivered online. Check attendance: some online programs still require campus visits or residencies.
Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required attendance
Limited campus visitsMostly online, with some required visits to campus.
Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Full- or part-time
Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Two years full-time; up to three years
Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
42 credit hours (plus up to 9 prerequisite credits without prior media experience)
Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Film and television
The program covers both film and television.
Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Fields of study

FieldClassificationEvidence
Film ProductionDedicated degreeThe degree itself is in this field.Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Film DirectingBroader film degreeA broader film degree whose official curriculum substantially covers this field.Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026
CinematographyBroader film degreeA broader film degree whose official curriculum substantially covers this field.Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Why this degree is listed

MFA dedicated to film and television production.

Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list verified film degrees only — no certificates, workshops or generic degrees with a few film electives. Eligibility rules

Online study and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus visits, production work and equipment are recorded separately. Online filmmaking usually means producing work where you live.
Coursework delivery
Flexible online format; students can progress at different rates.
Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus residencies
The Media Industry Intensive is offered off-campus and not online (two-week Los Angeles Media Workshop).
Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other
Some MCG, DSG and THG courses are offered only on campus.
Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Production workshops
Prerequisite courses may be taken on campus in fall/spring or as a two-week intensive in summer.
Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published state-authorization restrictions: not verified. Ask the school whether students in your state can enroll.

Curriculum, pathways and faculty

Thesis, film or capstone

Culminating requirement: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

Published areas of study

  • 24 core credits; 12 credits in production, directing, experiential and media writing courses; 6 elective credits.
    Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Residency requirements

  • Core includes a Media Industry Intensive offered off-campus (the two-week Los Angeles Media Workshop); substitutions only for extenuating circumstances with approval.
    Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other

  • Prerequisites (or equivalent experience) in Audio Production, Television Production and Single Camera Production; without them, 9 prerequisite credits are added.
    Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

  • Sean Gaffney — Associate Dean, School of Communication Arts; Professor of Screenwriting, screenwriting
  • Elizabeth Jones — Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies in Communication
  • David Whitaker — Assistant Professor of Media Communication

As listed on the program's official page on October 12, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Production costs and equipment

Production and equipment costs are separate from tuition. Tuition does not include cameras, crew, actors, locations, software or thesis-film budgets unless the school says so.

Equipment and facility access

Equipment access: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

Published production and equipment costs

Published production and course fees

Course fees
Certain courses carry a fee, noted as 'Fee' in the catalog course description.
Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Travel and residencies

Los Angeles Media Workshop
MandatoryRequired off-campus two-week Los Angeles Media Workshop (Media Industry Intensive); travel costs are not stated.
Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We never estimate a total cost when key expenses are unpublished. Compare production costs

Admissions

Each submission item is shown exactly as the school states it. Anything not listed is not verified — never “not required”.

Portfolio and submission materials

MaterialStatusInstructions as published
Film or reelRequiredPortfolio of 6-30 minutes of film/video production or demo reel, with documentation of the applicant's role(s).Length: up to 30 minutesSource: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other requirements

Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum cumulative GPA of 2.5
Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two references (character and professional), non-family
Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume/CV
Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
WaivedNo application fee
Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcript conferring a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited university
Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Duolingo English Test
Required — minimum 105One option for non-native English speakers without a U.S. degree
Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness. Build an application checklist

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the year and intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other. Production costs are listed separately above.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Graduate Communications (MA, MFA)Published for online studyFrom the school's rate table for this level$595per creditEstimate$24,990 = 42 credits × $595 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, production and equipment costs, travel, and any rate change during the program.Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Mandatory institutional fees

Comprehensive Technology Fee
$50 per semesterMandatory
Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated. “Fully funded” never means every personal or production expense is covered. How we classify funding

Partial funding

Other
A select number of competitive graduate assistantships are available (minimum 3.0 GPA, at least two semesters remaining).
Source: asbury.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. asbury.edu/graduate/academics/program/mfa-film-tv-production/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. asbury.edu/graduate/academics/program/mfa-film-tv-production/admission-requirements-tuition/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. asbury.edu/graduate/cost-and-aid/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. asbury.edu/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/AU-MFAFPgrad-2026.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level and field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

CUNY Brooklyn College

Cinema Arts, M.F.A.

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Cinema Arts
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Format: On campusClasses, workshops and productions meet in person on campus. · Full- or part-time
Fields: Film Production (dedicated degree) · Film Directing (Thesis as director concentration) · Cinematography (Thesis as cinematographer concentration) +3
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: $5,545 per semester · In-state — New York State residents, full-time (12 credits), tuition only
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
California Institute of the Arts logo

California Institute of the Arts

MFA Film and Video

MFAMaster of Fine Arts - Film and Video
Location: Valencia, CA
Format: On campusClasses, workshops and productions meet in person on campus.
Fields: Film Production (dedicated degree) · Film Studies (broader film degree)
Duration: Three years
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $62,954 per academic year · All students — Full-time BFA and MFA programs · 2026-2027
Deadline: December 1, 2026 · Fall 2027
Location: Orange, CA
Format: On campusClasses, workshops and productions meet in person on campus.
Fields: Film Production (dedicated degree) · Film Directing (Directing concentration) · Cinematography (Cinematography concentration) +1
Duration: Two years
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $26,414 per semester · All students · 2026-2027
Deadline: November 15, 2026 · Fall 2027

FilmSchools.app is independent and not affiliated with Asbury University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.