Skip to content
FilmSchools.app

Overview

A 120-credit BFA in Film in which students make four short films in the first year, choose a Cinematography, Directing or Editing specialization in the second year, and complete a two-semester thesis film that premieres at SVA Theatre. Applicants submit a 3-5 minute film reel or a two-part film essay.

Official program name
BFA Film
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Fine Arts in FilmBachelor's · Bachelor of Fine Arts
Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
New York, NY
Delivery
On campusClasses, workshops and productions meet in person on campus.
Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required attendance
Regular campus attendanceStudents attend classes on campus throughout the program.
Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Required credits
120 credits
Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start
Fall, Spring
Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Entry routes
  • First-year entry — Freshmen apply via the Common App or the SVA Application.Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Transfer entry — Transfer applicants apply via the SVA Application.Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Fields of study

FieldClassificationEvidence
Film ProductionDedicated degreeThe degree itself is in this field.Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Film DirectingNamed concentrationPathway: DirectingAn officially named concentration, specialization or track inside the degree.Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026
CinematographyNamed concentrationPathway: CinematographyAn officially named concentration, specialization or track inside the degree.Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026
EditingNamed concentrationPathway: EditingAn officially named concentration, specialization or track inside the degree.Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Why this degree is listed

BFA whose major is film, with Cinematography, Directing and Editing specializations.

Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list verified film degrees only — no certificates, workshops or generic degrees with a few film electives. Eligibility rules

Curriculum, pathways and faculty

Official concentrations and pathways

Thesis, film or capstone

Thesis filmTwo-semester Film Thesis; the film premieres at SVA Theatre.

Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Production projects

  • First-year students complete a ten-minute film by the end of the spring semester.
    Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published areas of study

  • Documentary can be chosen as a focus within Directing.
    Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

  • Dejan Georgevich — Chair

As listed on the program's official page on October 12, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Production costs and equipment

Production and equipment costs are separate from tuition. Tuition does not include cameras, crew, actors, locations, software or thesis-film budgets unless the school says so.

Equipment and facility access

Equipment loans
Access to the department's inventory of cameras and equipment.
Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Post-production
Private editing suites for upperclassmen and thesis projects and a 24/7 Finishing Suite.
Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published production and equipment costs

Published production and course fees

Film department fee
$1,350 (basis not stated by the school) MandatoryFilm department fee of $1,350 listed for first year and for second through fourth years (2026-27 table); period not stated.
Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We never estimate a total cost when key expenses are unpublished. Compare production costs

Admissions

Each submission item is shown exactly as the school states it. Anything not listed is not verified — never “not required”.

Portfolio and submission materials

MaterialStatusInstructions as published
Film or reelOptional3-5 minute film reel (or a single 3-5 minute clip) of work from the past two years; alternative to the two-part essay, strongly encouraged.Length: up to 5 minutesSource: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Creative prompt / exerciseOptionalTwo-part film essay (500-word story, then a 1,000-word cinematic retelling); alternative to the reel.Length: up to 1000 wordsSource: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other requirements

Personal statement
RequiredStatement of Intent or Common App essay of approximately 500 words.
Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$50 — Nonrefundable $50 application fee (waivers available).
Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness. Build an application checklist

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the year and intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Early action · first-time freshmen

    Rolling admission · for Fall 2027

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling
  • Priority deadline · first-time freshmen (scholarship consideration)

    Rolling admission · for Fall 2027

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling
  • Transfer applicants · transfer (scholarship consideration)

    Rolling admission · for Fall 2027

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other. Production costs are listed separately above.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Undergraduate full-time tuition (12-15 credits)From the school's rate table for this level$27,635per semester · 2026-2027Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Mandatory institutional fees

Health insurance (annual enrollment, waivable with qualifying plan)
$3,590 per academic year
Source: sva.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable. “Fully funded” never means every personal or production expense is covered. How we classify funding

Funding not verified

Funding policy: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. sva.edu/academics/undergraduate/bfa-film — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. sva.edu/academics/undergraduate/bfa-film/curriculum — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. sva.edu/academics/undergraduate/bfa-film/undergraduate-application-requirements — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. sva.edu/students/financial-resources/tuition-and-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level and field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

CUNY Brooklyn College

Film, B.A.

BABachelor of Arts in Film
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Format: On campusClasses, workshops and productions meet in person on campus.
Fields: Film Production (Film Production concentration) · Film Studies (Film Studies concentration) · Screenwriting (Screenwriting concentration) +1
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: $3,465 per semester · In-state — Undergraduate, New York State residents, full-time (12 credits or more)
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Ithaca College logo

Ithaca College

Film (B.F.A.)

BFABachelor of Fine Arts in Film
Location: Ithaca, NY
Format: On campusClasses, workshops and productions meet in person on campus.
Fields: Film Production (dedicated degree)
Duration: Duration not verified
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $59,440 per academic year · All students — Full-time, 12-18 credits per semester · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Ithaca College logo

Ithaca College

Television, Film, and Digital Media (B.S.)

BSBachelor of Science in Television, Film, and Digital Media
Location: Ithaca, NY
Format: On campusClasses, workshops and productions meet in person on campus.
Fields: Film Production (Television & Film Production concentration)
Duration: Four years
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $59,440 per academic year · All students — Full-time, 12-18 credits per semester · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

FilmSchools.app is independent and not affiliated with School of Visual Arts. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.