Skip to content
FilmSchools.app
Emerson College logo

Emerson College · School of Film, Television, and Media Arts

Writing for Film and Television MFA

Overview

A two-year, 40-credit low-residency screenwriting MFA. Each semester opens with a six-day residency in Boston (fall) or Los Angeles (spring), followed by two mostly asynchronous online classes; students graduate with a portfolio of short and feature screenplays, a TV spec, an original pilot and critical essays.

Official program name
Writing for Film and Television MFA
Awarded degree
Master of Fine Arts in Writing for Film and TelevisionMaster's · Master of Fine Arts
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Boston, MA
Delivery
HybridA regular mix of online and in-person study.
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required attendance
Low-residencyShort mandatory residencies combined with remote study. Not fully online.
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published
Duration
Two years
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
40 credits
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start
Fall
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Film and television
The program covers both film and television.
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Fields of study

FieldClassificationEvidence
ScreenwritingDedicated degreeThe degree itself is in this field.Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Why this degree is listed

Low-residency screenwriting MFA for film and television.

Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list verified film degrees only — no certificates, workshops or generic degrees with a few film electives. Eligibility rules

Online study and attendance

Coursework delivery, campus visits, production work and equipment are recorded separately. Online filmmaking usually means producing work where you live.
Campus residencies
A weeklong residency opens each semester, in Boston (fall) or Los Angeles (spring).
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Coursework delivery
Two online classes per semester after the residency.
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Live sessions
Online classes are primarily asynchronous with some synchronous elements.
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum, pathways and faculty

Thesis, film or capstone

PortfolioProfessional portfolio: short screenplays, a feature screenplay, a TV spec script, an original pilot, an additional script and critical essays.

Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Residency requirements

  • Six-day residencies in Boston and Los Angeles with workshops, screenings, master classes and staged readings.
    Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other

  • Expected workload of at least 8-10 hours per week.
    Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Faculty listed by the program

  • Thato Mwosa — screenwriting
  • Ed Lee — screenwriting
  • Owen Eagan — screenwriting

As listed on the program's official page on October 12, 2026. Listing does not mean a faculty member is teaching or supervising new students in a given year.

Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Production costs and equipment

Production and equipment costs are separate from tuition. Tuition does not include cameras, crew, actors, locations, software or thesis-film budgets unless the school says so.

Equipment and facility access

Equipment access: not verified. We publish this only when the school states it on an official page.

Published production and equipment costs

Travel and residencies

Residency travel
Each semester begins with a six-day in-person residency in Boston or Los Angeles; travel and lodging costs are not stated.
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We never estimate a total cost when key expenses are unpublished. Compare production costs

Admissions

Each submission item is shown exactly as the school states it. Anything not listed is not verified — never “not required”.

Portfolio and submission materials

MaterialStatusInstructions as published
Writing sampleRequired15 pages maximum of screenwriting (with loglines), dramatic writing, or a combination.Length: up to 15 pagesSource: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other requirements

Personal statement
RequiredAdmission essays (program fit, 500 words; a challenge overcome, 250-500 words; intended impact, 500 words).
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation.
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume.
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts.
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate competitiveness. Build an application checklist

Deadlines

Dates are shown with the year and intake the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    February 1, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    May 1, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its applicant category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-year and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other. Production costs are listed separately above.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Graduate tuition per creditFrom the school's rate table for this level$1,551per credit · 2026-2027Estimate$62,040 = 40 credits × $1,551 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, production and equipment costs, travel, and any rate change during the program.Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated. “Fully funded” never means every personal or production expense is covered. How we classify funding

Partial funding

Separate application
All applicants are automatically considered for merit scholarships; awards do not exceed tuition.
Source: emerson.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. emerson.edu/academics/graduate-programs/writing-for-film-and-tv-mfa-curriculum-requirements/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. emerson.edu/admission-aid/graduate-admissions/graduate-application-process/ — Official funding / aid page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. emerson.edu/admission-aid/graduate-admissions/graduate-application-process/writing-for-film-and-tele — Official funding / aid page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. emerson.edu/admission-aid/graduate-admissions/graduate-financial-aid/graduate-tuition-and-cost/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. emerson.edu/admission-aid/graduate-admissions/graduate-financial-aid/types-of-aid-for-graduate-stude — Official funding / aid page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. emerson.edu/programs/writing-for-film-and-television-2/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. emerson.edu/schools/school-of-film-television-and-media-arts/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Suggest an update · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs

Same degree level and field. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Boston University logo

Boston University

MFA in Screenwriting

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Screenwriting
Location: Boston, MA
Format: On campusClasses, workshops and productions meet in person on campus.
Fields: Screenwriting (dedicated degree)
Duration: Two years (four terms)
Funding: Partial funding
Tuition: $2,282 per unit · All students — COM master's tuition, billed per unit · 2026-2027
Deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View programSelected in: Top Screenwriting Schools

Loyola Marymount University

MFA in Writing and Producing for Television

MFAMaster of Fine Arts in Writing and Producing for Television
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Format: On campusClasses, workshops and productions meet in person on campus.
Fields: Screenwriting (dedicated degree) · Producing (broader film degree)
Duration: Three years
Funding: Funding not verified
Tuition: $1,814 per credit · All students — Graduate tuition per semester hour, School of Film and Television · 2026-2027
Deadline: November 15, 2026 · Fall 2026 (as printed)
View programSelected in: Top Screenwriting Schools

FilmSchools.app is independent and not affiliated with Emerson College. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.